December 23rd, 2004


hmmm....The Five Stages of a Poltergeist

The Five Stages of a Poltergeist
Stage 1: Senses
The activity mainly revolves around the five senses of the human body.
Phenomena: Cold spots, strange noises, hearing footsteps, pets running from rooms, feeling of being watched.
Stage 2: Communication
Strange noises and smells are more easily discernable and direct.
Phenomena: Whispers, moans, animated shadows, breezes in closed areas, marks on floors or walls.
Stage 3: Physical
The poltergeist clearly makes its presence known. What could have been previously dismissed is now a real entity.
Phenomena: Appliances turning on/off, invisible hands touching people, doors opening and closing by themselves, strange knocks at doors and windows.
Stage 4: Trick
It might seem like a harmless and playful entity, but it is really gathering knowledge of what people consider frightening, which it will use to inflict terror in the next stage and derive its energy from the fright.
Phenomena: Flying and moving objects, objects disappearing and reappearing elsewhere, shaking furniture, appearing as frightening entities, creating visions or illusions, speaking in ordering tones; windows, mirrors or other objects breaking for no reason.
Stage 5: Danger
The poltergeist has reached its highest energy point, and should be considered dangerous. Violent and threatening actions begin. After this stage, the poltergeist will go dormant and then begin the cycle again at the first stage.
Phenomena: Biting, slapping or punching people; animating objects; blood on walls, floors and ceilings, attacks by unseen forces, flying knives or sharp objects, heavy objects falling. Threatening writings or visual signs of danger; onset of unknown medical illness.
  • Current Music
    the tv